Twelve Tiny Explosions

Saxophonist Neil Welch returns with a new full-length album–his third for T&C. From the recording to the packaging itself, Twelve Tiny Explosions brings you inside Welch’s unique approach to his work. He coils sounds together into clusters, complex rhythmic patterns and minimalist cycles. Recorded in full takes with minimal editing, nearly each track was captured on separate days throughout 2011. Recording techniques included close mic-ing of particular keys, specific areas of the room and even the mouthpiece itself. The result is a dynamic album with Welch at a height of artistic creativity on every track, from the percussive, high-impact wails of “Dedicated to Drummer Chris Icasiano” or the blunt force of “Mount Index." 

Released 15 February 2013 
Recorded, mixed and mastered by Vincent LaBelle at BOOM! Studios throughout 2011. 
Cover illustration "APO” by Aaron Otheim 
Liner notes “compositional manuscript” by Neil Welch 
Design and Layout by Andrew J.S. 
C 2012 Neil Welch (Narmada Music/BMI) / Table & Chairs